1. Gun Dealer
2. People Don't Think of Others
3. Queensville
4. Highway 16
5. Felix Culpa
6. The Only Good Thing Is an Old Dog
7. Laws of the Universe
8. These Are No Economic Hard Times
9. The Two Sisters
10. Worse Than Indians

The Smiling and Beautiful Countryside is an album of rural Canadian murder ballads and was recorded in Toronto by acclaimed producer/engineer, David Travers-Smith. Jon’s fifth full-length release is an intrepid solo set that defies categorization and resists any ‘singer-songwriter,’ or ‘solo acoustic’ description.

Equal parts local Canadiana and universal horror, this is a collection that has buried all the trademark Jon Brooks social commentary in a shallow, roadside grave


1. Because We're Free
2. Fort McMurray
3. Mercy
4. Hudson Girl
5. Cage Fighter
6. Madeline
7. Son Of Hamas
8. Visiting Day
9. The Lonesome Death Of Aqsa Parvaz
10. There Are Only Cages
11. Because We're Free (Reprise)

Delicate Cages takes its title from the Robert Bly poem, TAKING THE HANDS:
Taking the hands of someone you love/You see they are like delicate cages...

Delicate Cages aims to reveal the complicit natures of good and evil, love and fear, and freedom and imprisonment. The DELICATE CAGES we live within are forms of enslavement - and not all 'cages' are necessarily bad. On his latest and most urgent and accessible collection of songs, Jon Brooks promises freedom to all who choose love over fear.


1. War Resister
2. When We Go
3. The Crying of the Times
4. God Pt. IV
5. Small
6. If We Keep What's Within Us, What's Within Us
7. Will Kill Us But If We Give What's Within Us...
8. In The Alleys
9. Safer Days
10. The Crying of the Times (Reprise)
11. There is Only Love

Moth Nor Rust is a hopeful answer to the questions raised by No Mean City and Ours And The Shepherds. In the spirit of Guthrie and Seeger, these songs offer us something greater than warning; they offer us the possibility of spiritual renewal, greater justice, love, and healing. Essentially, these solo performances celebrate all that neither moth nor rust can touch. The title is taken from Matthew 6:19 - 21.


1. Jim Loney's Prayer Part I
2. Mimico
3. Tajik Boy
4. Kigali
5. Auction Days
6. Groesbeek
7. Sgt. Tommy Prince
8. Cigarettes
9. The Latest Great Embarrassment
10. The Padre
11. Hill 677
12. Jim Loney's Prayer Part II
13. In Flanders Fields

From No Mean City's failed neighbours, failed nations come. 2007's Ours And The Shepherds is a collection of Canadian war stories from WWI through to the current missions in Afghanistan. 13 songs inspired by, and in part about, Canadians living with the memory of war zone suffering: James Loney, Senator Romeo Dallaire, Sgt. Tommy Prince, Chaplain William Henry Davis, Frank P. Dixon, and John McRae, to name a few. Ours And The Shepherds earned a 2007 Canadian Folk Music Award nomination for Best Songwriter. Penguin Eggs deemed it "a thoroughly wonderful and truly important addition to the canon of Canadian folk music."


1. No Mean City
2. No Good
3. How Good It Is to Love Someone, How Right it is to Care
4. Miracle On Bleecker Stree
5. The Curve of the Earth
6. St. James Town
7. Two Storey Town
8. The Industrial Part of Town
9. Kept Plans
10. Stairwell Anniversary
11. MIchael Power
12. By the Lake

No Mean City (2006) takes 12 Toronto addresses and turns them into songs. Beginning with the proud outer face of architecture, the songs move inward to discover our interiors are not in accord with the exteriors. Collectively, the songs make the forceful argument: that homelessness on today's urban streets is a final consequence of the homelessness that is the modern urban soul.